Weekly Birding Update..

I wish I had more to report. I wish I had pictures to post. But, I’ve seen very little in the way of activity suddenly. Logic would tell me it’s the cicada emergence. I have noticed all sorts of things eating the bugs. Squirrels, sparrows, even my dog are eating the little buggers constantly.

I just wonder how much this benefits the food chain as a whole? I imagine EVERYTHING gets easier for a few weeks. And, I don’t suspect Mother Nature accidentally timed these eruptions right on top of all the birds fledging their young.

My trees in my backyard have not had a lot of cicadas on them. They’ve had plenty, but not like the stories I’m hearing. But, today, I found a couple of trees that were absolutely covered in them. The ground looked like mulch, but turned out to be dead cicadas. And, the smell of death was almost overpowering with them that thick. Which told me even bacteria are benefiting big time from the cicadas.

So, it’s likely the entire food chain is benefiting from top to bottom. And, that’s a good thing! It likely spurs on many other species into their breeding and reproduction. So, even though this is annoying to us, it’s likely benefiting us indirectly.

When my activity comes back, I’ll be sure to get some pictures. Until then, you just need to wait for the garden pics and the photo challenges.

Well, until next time….Keep chuggin’!

Leave a Reply

