12-10-10 backyard bird count..

Didnt’ come up with much in the way of images.  But, I will tell you that today is the nicest day in a couple of weeks.  We are supposed to hit 50F today before the weekend rocks our world back into winter with rain and a bit of snow.  Sunday night’s temps are supposed to be in the single digits with windchills below zero.  Fatten up, little buddies, you are in for a rough next few days!

I do have a new sighting today, though.  I saw a Red-Winged Blackbird at my feeders yesterday afternoon.  He didn’t stick long because I spooked him when trying to get him to smile for the camera.  Instead, I had to settle for a shot of him in a far away tree.  But, you can see the patch on the shoulder as proof.  I can live with that.   Here is today’s count…

830am…28F….sunny with fog….new sighting: Red-Winged Blackbird

Downy Woodpecker – 1, Dark-eyed Junco – 3, Finches – 6, but 1 Goldfinch and 1 Purple Finch, Eurasian Tree Sparrows – 2, Blue Jay – 1, Tufted Titmouse – 1, American Robin – 3, Common Grackle – 2, Mourning Dove – 2, Black-capped Chickadee – 2.

I can tell you I had many more doves at the feeder before I was counting, and likely finches, too.  I could hear the finches this morning as I was getting up, and when I popped the shade more doves flew off than I could count…..likely a dozen or so.

This morning the outside air had a different feel to it.  It actually felt “fresh.”  Like the air you want to open up the windows for…but I ain’t that dummm.  So, I had to settle for watching it from inside.  The air had a fog to it since we had a frost last night.  Watching the sun burn off the frost was pretty neat.  The sun turned some of it to water…dripping power lines.  But, the sun also burned some off due to sublimation.  I saw a neighbor’s aluminum shed steaming for 10 minutes.  It looked like it was on fire.  I just sat there and admired the sun’s power.  If you think about it, the sun is pretty cool.  It can turn ice into steam when it’s only 28F outside!  That’s pretty amazing to me.

Another thing I will quickly mention is how animals get their water when it’s this cold outside.  I never noticed this before, but this morning I saw a squirrel licking the frost off my deck railings.  He moved from one to the other just licking away.  I’m sure as the air temps were warming he was drinking water more than licking ice.  But, either way, I found that pretty cool to watch as my birdbath is solid ice right now.  (We can get into laziness and tempting Mother Nature with my concrete bird bath in subfreezing temps in another post.)

Now, that the frost has burned off, I need to get some work done.  So, I am going to finish my SunnyD and get to chuggin’.

Leave a Reply

