12-7-10 count..

Low activity lately.  However, we are supposed to get rain changing to snow this weekend.  For that, I expect Thursday-Saturday to be busy feeder days.

It’s also bitter cold for this time of year.  Temps are running a good 15-20 degrees below normal.  This morning it was 18F and sunny.  I saw a Blue Jay eating at the feeder, but he never posed for me.   A couple Mourning Doves and Juncos.  And, my Downy.  Yesterday, I noticed I have at least three Downys.  One male and two female.

I saw a hawk of some sort fly through the backyard yesterday, too.  He was chasing a songbird.  It was quite the ariel display!  The little guy got away, though.  I couldn’t help but root for him as he twisted and dodged his way to freedom.

Here are some recent pictures, though.  I’m still shooting obviously.

By the way, I inserted that pic of the House Finch’s tail end because I was impressed by the sharpness of the photo.  I had been shooting on slower shutter speeds and, as a result, my photos were coming off a bit “soft” if the bird even twitched a little.  This just reminded me that my lens can do it, if I pay closer attention to the surrounding conditions.

Leave a Reply

