Turkey Day count (11-25-10)..

Happy Thanksgiving!!

More rainy weather, as last night we received over an inch of rain again.  Last I looked, the STL area has received about 2.5-3.5 inches of rainfall in the past 7 days.  I think we can admit the drought is broken.

10am…37F…light rain…no new sightings.

3 Mourning Doves under the feeders, 10+ House Finches chirping over feeder space, 1 Downy Woodpecker, 1 Tufted Titmouse, 2 Black-capped Chickadees, 3 Northern Cardinals (more detail below), 10 Dark-eyed Juncos, 2 Eurasian Tree Sparrows

I have been trying to count the pairs of Cardinals lately, but you kind of have to see more than one male or female together.  However, yesterday, I saw 3 males at the same time in my dogwood tree.  So, unless one is juvenile, I have 3 pairs.  I kind of have to do the same thing with the House Finches, but they are much more difficult to track being that they are so fast and active.  Besides, I believe the House Finch flock contains more females than males anyway.

I also had a White-Breasted Nuthatch sighting yesterday afternoon.  I haven’t seen him in quite awhile.  Here is a small gallery of this week’s best photos…

Leave a Reply

